Located in the French Quarter, steps from Bourbon Street, the Hotel St. Pierre exemplifies charming French Quarter architecture and ambiance. Guest rooms are located amid landscaped courtyards and swimming pools. Complimentary continental breakfast.
In 1781, the Peyroux Building was erected for Gabriel Peyroux de la Roche Molive, a native of France. The building originally stood on the family plantation on Bayou Road. Only a few years after their move, Gabriel commissioned a new house to be built. It was typical French Creole fare, constructed in the “briquette-entre-poteaux” or “small brick between posts” architectural style. The bricks were made of Mississippi River mud, Spanish moss and horse hair. Peyroux was the sort of gentleman who made snap decisions in a moments’ notice – the house wasn’t even finished before he had it dismantled and rebuilt where it stands today at 911 Burgundy Street. Years after the Peyroux’s ownership ended, the structure was used as a family home, apartments, a small warehouse and even as a department store. In 1961, the building located at 1017 Dumaine Street (now the Jazz Cottage Building), came to fame as the first ever jazz museum in the world. Other discography, portraits, and instruments were collected as part of the permanent exhibit, in addition to the trumpet of Louis Armstrong and the first records of Kid Ory, Jelly Roll Mortin and Cozy Cole. Originally, the building is said to have been a place for Jazz Funerals with second line parades to follow. In addition to Sunday services, rooms were rented out by Sister Annie Pavageau, the organist, and choir mistress. The hotel opened during the Jazz Museum years as the Crossbeam Hotel. Today the Jazz Museum is housed within the Louisiana State Museum, but many of the artifacts and collectibles are still displayed in the lobby area of the hotel.