Der Nachweis einer vollständigen Impfung oder eines kürzlich durchgeführten negativen Tests ist nicht mehr erforderlich, um Bars, Restaurants, Veranstaltungsräume und andere Unternehmen zu betreten. Die aktuellen Richtlinien finden Sie unter Mehr lesen
X
X
Suche
Sie haben Ihren ersten Artikel zu Trip Builder hinzugefügt! Verfolgen Sie hier Ihren Reiseverlauf.
ENews
UPDATES UND SONDERANGEBOTE
Buchung
 
Die Menschen in New Orleans sind der Grund, warum Sie New Orleans besuchen

x

Plus eins | New Orleans

Zieh einen Stuhl hoch

DIE MENSCHEN IN NEW ORLEANS SIND DER GRUND, WARUM DU NEW ORLEANS BESUCHST

Die Seele eines Ortes kommt von seinen Menschen. Und nirgendwo sonst haben die Menschen in New Orleans.

Unsere Wertschätzung und unser Bedürfnis nach Reisen haben sich in den letzten Jahren geändert. Wir sind isolierter geworden. Wir haben die Chance verpasst, die Welt zu sehen und uns von anderen inspirieren zu lassen. Wir müssen uns befreien.

New Orleans hat alles, was man braucht, um sich wieder gesund zu fühlen. Und wir hoffen, dass Sie einen Teil von sich selbst wiederentdecken, wenn Sie durch unsere Türen gehen.

Diese Kampagne basiert auf den Kulturträgern von New Orleans. Es erzählt die Geschichte unseres Ortes und unserer Kreativität durch unsere Mitarbeiter. Im Mittelpunkt steht eine Dinnerparty voller talentierter Köche, Musiker, Künstler, Aktivisten, Bürgerrechtsikonen und Mitglieder lebendiger und eng verbundener New Orleans-Gemeinden. Wir hoffen, dass Sie einige Zeit damit verbringen, sie kennenzulernen und New Orleans mit ihren Augen zu sehen.

New Orleans: Plus eins
New Orleans: Plus eins

In Kürze werden wir ein erstes VR-Erlebnis seiner Art veröffentlichen, eine Art POV-Dokumentation aus der ersten Person, mit der Sie zu dieser Party einen Stuhl hochziehen und Teile der Stadt mit den Anwesenden erkunden können. Es heißt „Plus One“ und wir hoffen, dass du unsere Einladung annimmst, uns auf Oculus TV zu besuchen.

Treffen Sie unsere Dinnerparty-Gäste

Leona Tate

Leona Tate spielte früh eine entscheidende Rolle in der Bürgerrechtsbewegung und war eine der ersten Afroamerikaner, die eine ehemals reine weiße Schule in Louisiana besuchte. 2009 gründete sie die Leona Tate Foundation for Change (LTFC), um die Öffentlichkeit, insbesondere junge Menschen, weiter über die Lehren aus Bürgerrechten und dem Kampf der Minderheiten für Gleichheit aufzuklären.

Am 14. November 1960, sechs Jahre nachdem separate Schwarz-Weiß-Schulen in Brown gegen Board of Education für verfassungswidrig erklärt wurden, wurden Leona Tate, Gail Etienne und Tessie Prevost, erst 6 Jahre alt, von Federal Marshals durch eine Menge Demonstranten begleitet, um die McDonogh #19 Public School zu besuchen.

Das Schulgebäude in der 5909 St Claude Ave. im historischen Lower Ninth Ward beherbergt heute das Tate, Etienne, Prevost Interpretive Center, eine gemischt genutzte Einrichtung, die sich der Geschichte der Desegregation, der Bürgerrechte und der restaurativen Justiz der New Orleans Public School widmet.


Ben Jaffe

Als Sohn der Mitbegründer Allan und Sandra Jaffe hat Ben sein ganzes Leben lang mit dem Rhythmus des French Quarter gelebt, der ihm durch die Adern pulsiert. Ben wuchs in Begleitung der größten Musiker von New Orleans auf und kehrte von seiner College-Ausbildung am Oberlin College in Ohio zurück, um mit der Gruppe zu spielen und die Aufgaben seines Vaters als Direktor der Preservation Hall zu übernehmen. Heute ist er Creative Director sowohl für die Preservation Hall Jazz Band als auch für die Hall selbst. Nach dem Hurrikan gründete Katrina Ben die Preservation Hall Foundation, um die traditionelle Musik und Kultur von New Orleans durch Bildung, Engagement in der Gemeinschaft, Vermächtnis und Archivierung zu schützen, zu bewahren und aufrechtzuerhalten.


Ti Martin

Gastronom, Unternehmer, Autor und gefragter Redner Ti Adelaide Martin ist ein ausgesprochener Champion für echte Gastfreundschaft in der Wirtschaft. "Ich habe viele Leidenschaften, aber meine wahre Liebe gilt Restaurants. Ich liebe Restaurants. „Ich liebe es, in ihnen zu arbeiten, in ihnen zu essen, über sie zu sprechen, über sie zu lesen und über sie zu schreiben"“, sagt Martin.

Martin schreibt ihrer Mutter Ella Brennan zu, dass sie diese Leidenschaft entfacht hat. Ein Lebenstraum wurde wahr, als Ti den Gefallen erwiderte, indem sie mit ihrer Mutter ein Buch mit dem Titel Miss Ella of Commanders Palace Im Anschluss an das Buch veröffentlichte die Oscar-nominierte Filmemacherin Leslie lwerks den Dokumentarfilm Ella Brennan: Commanding the Table.

Martin ist seit 1997 zusammen mit ihrer Cousine Lally Brennan Mitinhaber von Commander's Palace und spricht mit Stolz und Begeisterung über die Zukunft. "In all meinen Restaurants versuchen wir, dem gerecht zu werden, was die Menschen erwarten und wollen, noch besser zu werden und darzustellen, worum es in der Stadt geht - nicht nur das Essen, sondern auch die Lebensweise, die Seele und den Geist von New Orleans. Vor allem werden wir nicht still stehen, wir werden uns immer weiterentwickeln. " 


Joe" Rollin Joe" Henry

Joe Henry wurde im Viertel Uptown New Orleans in Pigeon Town geboren und ist dort aufgewachsen. Er ist ein fester Bestandteil der einzigartigen Second-Line-Kultur der Stadt. Er war einer von 20 Gründern der Pigeon Town Steppers, einem beliebten Second-Line-Club, der für seine atemberaubenden, farblich abgestimmten Outfits von Kopf bis Fuß (komplett mit handgefertigten italienischen Alligatorschuhen) und Paraden am Ostersonntag bekannt ist. 

Henry ist seit seinem 12. Lebensjahr im Rollstuhl für seine Akrobatik in der zweiten Reihe bekannt - Wheelies knallen, drehen, den Stuhl von einer Seite zur anderen lehnen - zu der Musik und Energie tanzen, die ein wesentlicher Bestandteil jeder Straßenparade in New Orleans sind. Er schreibt seine Fähigkeit, die meisten dieser Moves einwandfrei auszuführen, seiner umfangreichen Rollstuhlbasketball-Erfahrung zu, die er seit 1994 spielt.
 
Joes Club, der in The New Yorker, Village Voice und der HBO-Serie für den Kampf (und Triumph) seines Clubs gegen exorbitante Paradegenehmigungsgebühren nach dem Hurrikan Katrina vorgestellt wird, mag berühmt sein, aber sie sind auch bodenständig und verpflichten sich, jeden zu begeistern, der herauskommt, um sie zu sehen. 


Artur Roger

Arthur Roger, ein Pionier der Kunst in New Orleans, ist seit 1978 ein Anwalt und eine Stimme lokaler Künstler. Roger, der als herausragender Kunsthändler der Stadt anerkannt ist, leitete die Gründung der New Orleans Gallery Association (heute Arts District of New Orleans genannt) und half bei der Schaffung erfolgreicher stadtweiter Ausstellungseröffnungen wie Art For Art's Sake, die die Kunstszene in New Orleans veränderten. Roger erhielt mehrere Bürgerpreise, darunter A.I. Botnick Torch of Liberty, Junior Achievement Role Model und den Equality Award der Human Rights Campaign. Er leistet weiterhin wichtige Beiträge, die New Orleans zu einem so besonderen Ort für Künstler machen. Sie finden ihn oft in seiner Galerie in der Julia Street.


Doreen Ketchens

Die Klarinettistin Doreen Ketchens, eine wahre kulturelle Botschafterin der Stadt New Orleans, spielte für vier US-Präsidenten, nahm seit 1994 fast jedes Jahr ein Album auf und wurde von ClassicFM.com als Legende bezeichnet.

Ketchens, alias Queen Clarinet, wuchs in der Nachbarschaft von Treme auf und wurde regelmäßig zweiten Zeilen und Jazz-Beerdigungen ausgesetzt. Sie studierte am New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA) bei Ellis Marsalis und ließ sich von mehreren Mentoren und Lehrern inspirieren und positiv denken, darunter Alvin Batiste und Stanley Weinstein, die ihr halfen, sich darauf zu konzentrieren, ihr unglaubliches Talent auf die nächste Stufe zu heben. 

An den meisten Wochenenden findet man sie oft im French Quarter in der Royal Street, wo sie in den letzten drei Jahrzehnten mit ihren virtuosen Auftritten Menschenmengen begeistert hat.


Gladney

Der Grammy-nominierte Multiinstrumentalist und Komponist Gladney, gebürtig aus New Orleans's Lower 9th Ward in der 6. Generation, ist einer der führenden Kreativen seiner Heimatstadt und ein führender zeitgenössischer Vertreter des Saxophons.

Gladney ist seit seinem 12. Lebensjahr professionell aufgetreten und gereist. Er ist Absolvent des New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA) und erwarb später seinen BA an der New School for Contemporary Music. Während seiner Zeit bei NOCCA wurde Gladney ausgewählt, Teil der heutigen All-Star-Gruppe des Herbie Hancock Institute of Jazz (damals Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz) zu sein, wo er zu Gymnasien im ganzen Land reiste, um durch Jazz- „Informanzen“ zu unterrichten.  Während dieser Zeit hatte Gladney die besondere Ehre und das Privileg, während der Obama-Regierung im Weißen Haus aufzutreten.

Gladney leitet derzeit eine selbstbetitelte Band. Die Veröffentlichung von" Selenite 2021" markiert das Plattendebüt der Band. Zusammen mit seiner Band tritt Gladney regelmäßig mit The Rumble auf, einer von Black Masking von Indien geführten Funkband aus New Orleans, und Jake Shears von der Alt-Pop-Band Scissor Sisters.


Samantha Fisch

Der 33-jährige Dynamo hat gerade ihr sechstes Album Faster veröffentlicht. Dies ist ihre zweite Veröffentlichung für Rounder Records; ihr Debüt war 2019 Kill or Be Kind. Faster debütierte in den Billboard Blues Charts bei #1, es debütierte auch bei - #2 Folk Americana Charts - #10 Rock Albums Charts

Guitar World nannte sie „Eine der 30 besten Gitarristen der Welt“ - sie kam bei #7 hinter Eric Clapton, Buddy Guy und Joe Bonamassa.  Und das Variety Magazine nannte „Faster“ einen der Top-Songs des Jahres 2021. Und die New York Times sagte: „In den letzten zehn Jahren war Fish einer der vielversprechendsten jungen Blues-Interpreten, ein druckvoller Sänger und ein lauter Gitarrist." Kill or Be Kind ist ihr erstes Album für das Roots-Musik-Kraftpaket Rounder und es zeigt die Bandbreite ihrer Palette, die Southern R& B, Rockabilly und vieles mehr umfasst. " 

Während Samanthas Wurzeln im KC liegen, nennt sie New Orleans jetzt ihr Zuhause. Samanthas Live-Auftritt ist eine Kraft, mit der man rechnen muss. Sie ist eine explosive Marke von Blues/Rock-and-Roll, die Sie nicht verpassen sollten. 


Maurer Hereford

Mason Hereford ist Küchenchef und Besitzer von Turkey and the Wolf, einem reinen Thekenservice, den Food& Wine und GQ beide als eines der wichtigsten Restaurants des Jahrzehnts aufgeführt haben und Bon Appetit 2017 zum besten neuen Restaurant Amerikas gekürt hat. Ihm gehört auch Molly's Rise and Shine, ein Frühstückslokal in der Nähe, dass Food& Wine 2020 zum besten neuen Restaurant gekürt wurde. 

Masons Kochbuch Die Türkei und der Wolf: Flavor Trippin in New Orleans ist ein Bestseller der New York Times.

Er wurde im ländlichen Virginia mit Essen und Rollschuhfahren an Tankstellen geboren und aufgewachsen. Er lebt derzeit in New Orleans und wird niemals gehen. Er ist auch in einem Duke's Mayonnaise-Werbespot.


Demond Melancon

Demond Melancon (geb. 1978) arbeitet ausschließlich mit einer Nadel und einem Faden, um Glasperlen auf Leinwand zu nähen.  Als Autodidakt begann er diese Kunstform 1992, als er zum ersten Mal Teil einer mehr als 200 Jahre alten Kultur wurde, die als Black Masking Culture of New Orleans bekannt ist.  Heute ist Melancon als Big Chief dafür bekannt, massive Anzüge zu kreieren, die er in zeremoniellen Schlachten am Karnevalstag trägt.  Die Anzüge, die er kreiert, sind skulpturale Formen, die auf der Größe seines Körpers basieren und aus aufwendig perlenbesetzten Flecken bestehen, die eine kollektive visuelle Erzählung enthüllen.

In den letzten fünf Jahren hat Melancon eine aufstrebende zeitgenössische Kunstpraxis entwickelt, die dieselben Perlentechniken verwendet, die er in den letzten 28 Jahren als Black Masker angewendet hat.  Seine Arbeiten wurden im Victoria& Albert Museum in London, Art Miami, im Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Art in Brooklyn und in der Arthur Roger Gallery in New Orleans ausgestellt.  Viele von Melancons Werken ehren schwarze Themen, die historisch vom künstlerischen Kanon ausgeschlossen waren, und spiegeln oft unerzählte Geschichten aus vergangener Vergangenheit wider, um den Betrachter an ihre miteinander verwobenen gemeinsamen Vorfahren und diasporischen Geschichten zu erinnern. Er konfrontiert auch stereotype Repräsentationen der schwarzen Identität und spiegelt sein tiefes Interesse wider, die Möglichkeiten des visuellen Geschichtenerzählens zu erkunden und die Traditionen der Porträtmalerei neu zu definieren. 


Brandan" BMIKE" Odums

Brandan „BMIKE“ Odums ist ein in New Orleans ansässiger bildender Künstler, der durch Ausstellungen, öffentliche Programme und öffentliche Kunstwerke einen transnationalen Dialog über die Schnittstelle von Kunst und Widerstand führt.

Von Filmen über Wandmalereien bis hin zu Installationen verkörpert Odums Arbeit den politischen Eifer einer Generation schwarzer amerikanischer Aktivisten, die inmitten der Amtszeit des ersten schwarzen Präsidenten der Nation, des Wiederauflebens des Interesses der Bevölkerung an Strafverfolgungsgewalt und dem Aufkommen der Selbstpflegebewegung erwachsen wurden. Odums arbeitet meistens mit Sprühfarbe und malt farbenfrohe, wandgroße Wandbilder, die historische Figuren, zeitgenössische Kreative und alltägliche Menschen darstellen. In seiner ansonsten figurativen Arbeit geht Odums vom Realismus ab, um mit Farbe zu spielen - er mischt Lavendel, um die Haut von Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. und Coretta Scott King zu streichen, und Robins Eierblau für Harriet Tubman zum Beispiel - und deutet auf ein Ethos der Kühnheit hin, das die Themen seiner Arbeit vereint und die Rasse übertrifft , Zeit oder irgendein anderer Aspekt der physischen Realität.


Chefkoch Isaac Toups

Das Kochen des Essens, das ihm am Herzen liegt, hat Chefkoch Isaac Toups begeisterte Kritiken eingebracht. Isaac Toups repräsentiert den neuen Garde der Cajun-Köche für seinen aktualisierten, raffinierten Ansatz für eine Küche, die am besten für tiefe rustikale Aromen bekannt ist. Sein kulinarischer Stil ist das direkte Ergebnis seines Gourmet-Erlebnisses in New Orleans und seines aufgewachsenen Cajun (Rayne, La, im Herzen des Cajun-Landes). Seit der Eröffnung von Toups' Meatery mit seiner Frau Amanda im Jahr 2012 wurde Chefkoch Isaac Toups dreimal zum& Halbfinalisten des James Beard Best Chef of the South ernannt und erhielt weitere bemerkenswerte Auszeichnungen.

„Alles, was ich schon immer tun wollte, ist meine Version der Cajun-Küche anzubieten und das kulinarische Erlebnis am Tisch meiner Familie nachzubilden. Es ist besonders erfreulich, dass unsere Gäste auf das reagieren, was wir tun.“ — Chefkoch Isaac Toups"


Stanton Moore

Stanton Moore ist ein GRAMMY-preisgekrönter Schlagzeuger, Pädagoge und Performer, der in New Orleans geboren und aufgewachsen ist. Er ist besonders mit seiner Heimatstadt, ihrer Kultur und ihrem kollaborativen Geist verbunden. In den frühen 90ern half Moore bei der Gründung der in New Orleans ansässigen Essential-Funkband Galactic, die durch Aufnahmen und Tourneen weltweit weiterhin ein weltweites Publikum anspricht. Die Band hat in den letzten 25 Jahren durchschnittlich 100 Shows pro Jahr verzeichnet.

Während seiner 25-jährigen Karriere hat Moore mit einer vielfältigen Gruppe von Künstlern gespielt und/oder aufgenommen, darunter Maceo Parker, Joss Stone, Irma Thomas, Leo Nocentelli und George Porter (von den Meters), Tom Morello (von Rage Against the Machine), Corrosion of Konformität, Donald Harrison Jr., Nicholas Payton, Posaune Shorty, Skerik, Charlie Hunter, Robert Walter, Will Bernard, Ivan Neville, Anders Osborne und die Preservation Hall Jazzband. 

Mit einem Bachelor-Abschluss in Musik und Wirtschaft von der Loyola University engagiert sich Moore weiterhin in der Bildung, indem er ständig Kliniken präsentiert und Meisterkurse und Privatunterricht auf der ganzen Welt unterrichtet. Um seine Leidenschaft für das Unterrichten fortzusetzen und enger mit seinen Schülern verbunden zu werden, hat er kürzlich seine eigene Online-Schlagzeug-Akademie, StantonMooredrumAcademy.com, ins Leben gerufen.


Neal Bodenheimer

Neal Bodenheimer wurde in New Orleans geboren und ist dort aufgewachsen. 2009 eröffnete er seine erste Cocktailbar, Cure, in der Freret Street in Uptown New Orleans. Seitdem hat er mehrere weitere Bars in der Stadt eröffnet, darunter Cane& Table, Bellocq, Vals und Peychaud's. 

2018 gewann Cure einen James Beard Award für das „Beste Barprogramm“. Und das Esquire Magazine ernannte Peychaud's 2022 zu einer der besten Bars in Amerika. Er ist Co-Vorsitzender des Board of Directors der Tales of the Cocktail Foundation, einem führenden Unternehmen in der globalen Cocktail-Community, das sich der Ausbildung, Förderung und Unterstützung der Hotellerie auf der ganzen Welt verschrieben hat.

Bodenheimers neues Buch Cure: New Orleans Drinks and How to Mix 'Em finden Sie im Oktober 2022 in Buchhandlungen und online.


Mein Nguyen

My Nguyen zog 1986 nach New Orleans und ist hier seit Jahrzehnten kommerzielle Fischerin. Was sie an New Orleans am meisten liebt, ist die Fülle an frischen Meeresfrüchten in der Stadt - sie zu kochen und zu essen und sie zu fangen.

Sie genießt auch den Bauernmarkt der vietnamesischen Gemeinde am Samstagmorgen im Viertel New Orleans East von Versailles, wo Sie frische Produkte, Kräuter und hausgemachte Lebensmittel wie Reiskuchen in Bananenblätter finden.

Proof of full vaccination or a recent negative test is no longer required to enter bars, restaurants, event spaces, and other businesses. For current guidelines, Read More
X
X
Search
You've added your first Trip Builder item! Keep track of your trip itinerary here.
ENews
GET UPDATES AND SPECIAL OFFERS
Booking
 
The People of New Orleans Are Why You Visit New Orleans


x

Plus One | New Orleans

Pull Up A Chair

THE PEOPLE OF NEW ORLEANS ARE WHY YOU VISIT NEW ORLEANS

A place’s soul comes from its people. And nowhere else has the people of New Orleans.

Our appreciation and need for travel has changed over the last few years. We’ve become more siloed. We’ve lost chances to see the world and be inspired by others. We need to break free.

New Orleans has what you need to feel whole again. And we hope you’ll rediscover a part of yourself when you walk through our doors.

This campaign is built around the culture bearers of New Orleans. It tells the story of our place and our creativity through our people. At its core sits a dinner party full of talented chefs, musicians, artists, activists, civil rights icons, and members of vibrant and tight-knit New Orleans communities. We hope you’ll spend some time getting to know them and seeing New Orleans through their eyes.

New Orleans: Plus One
New Orleans: Plus One

Soon, we’ll launch a first-of-its-kind VR experience, a sort of first-person POV documentary, that allows you to pull up a chair to this party and explore parts of the city with the people in attendance. It’s called, “Plus One,” and we hope you’ll accept our invitation to join us on Oculus TV.

Meet Our Dinner Party Guests

Leona Tate

Leona Tate played a crucial early role in the Civil Rights Movement, becoming one of the first African Americans to attend a formerly white-only school in Louisiana. In 2009, she created the Leona Tate Foundation for Change (LTFC) to continue educating the public, in particular young people, on the lessons of Civil Rights and minorities’ struggle for equality.

On November 14, 1960, six years after separate black and white schools were ruled unconstitutional in Brown vs Board of Education, Leona Tate, Gail Etienne, and Tessie Prevost, only 6 years old, were escorted by Federal Marshals through a crowd of protesters to attend the McDonogh #19 Public School.

The school building, located at 5909 St Claude Ave. in the historic Lower Ninth Ward, now houses the Tate, Etienne, Prevost Interpretive Center, a mixed-use facility dedicated to the history of New Orleans Public School Desegregation, Civil Rights, and restorative justice.


Ben Jaffe

As son of co-founders Allan and Sandra Jaffe, Ben has lived his whole life with the rhythm of the French Quarter pulsing through his veins. Raised in the company of New Orleans’ greatest musicians, Ben returned from his collegiate education at Oberlin College in Ohio to play with the group and assume his father’s duties as Director of Preservation Hall. Today he serves as Creative Director for both Preservation Hall Jazz Band and the Hall itself. Post Hurricane Katrina Ben established the Preservation Hall Foundation to protect, preserve, and perpetuate New Orleans traditional music and culture, through education, community engagement, legacy, and archive.


Ti Martin

Restaurateur, entrepreneur, author, and sought-after speaker Ti Adelaide Martin is an outspoken champion for true hospitality in business. "I have many passions, but my truest love is for restaurants. I love restaurants. I love working in them, eating in them, talking about them, reading about them, and writing about them," says Martin.

Martin credits her mother Ella Brennan with igniting that passion. A lifelong dream came true when Ti returned the favor by releasing a book with her mother titled Miss Ella of Commanders Palace. On the heels of the book, Oscar-nominated filmmaker Leslie lwerks released the documentary, Ella Brennan: Commanding the Table.

Co-proprietor of Commander's Palace since 1997 with her cousin Lally Brennan, Martin speaks with pride and excitement about the future. "At all of my restaurants, we try to live up to what people expect and want to be even better and to represent what the city is all about -- not just the food but the way of life, the soul, and the spirit that is New Orleans. Most of all we will not stand still; we will always evolve." 


Joseph "Rollin Joe" Henry

Born and raised in the Uptown New Orleans neighborhood, Pigeon Town, Joe Henry is a staple of the city's unique second-line culture. He was one of 20 founders of the Pigeon Town Steppers, a beloved second-line club known for their stunning head-to-toe color-coordinated outfits (complete with Italian handmade alligator shoes) and Easter Sunday parades. 

In a wheelchair since the age of 12, Henry is known for his acrobatics during second lines - popping wheelies, spinning, leaning the chair from side to side - dancing to the music and energy that are an essential part of every street parade in New Orleans. He credits his ability to execute most of those moves flawlessly to his extensive wheelchair basketball experience, which he's played since 1994.
 
Featured in The New Yorker, Village Voice, and the HBO series, Treme for his club's fight (and triumph) against exorbitant parade permit fees following Hurricane Katrina, Joe's club may be famous but they're also down to earth and committed to thrilling everyone who comes out to see them. 


Arthur Roger

A pioneer of arts in New Orleans, Arthur Roger has been an advocate and voice for local artists here since 1978. Recognized as the city's preeminent art dealer, Roger led the formation of the New Orleans Gallery Association (now called the Arts District of New Orleans) and helped create successful citywide exhibition openings such as Art For Art’s Sake which transformed the art scene in New Orleans. A recipient of multiple civic awards including the ADL's A.I. Botnick Torch of Liberty, Junior Achievement Role Model, and the Human Rights Campaign’s Equality Award, Roger continues to make important contributions that make New Orleans such a special place for artists. You can often find him at his gallery on Julia Street.


Doreen Ketchens

A true cultural ambassador for the city of New Orleans, clarinetist Doreen Ketchens has played for four U.S. Presidents, recorded an album almost every year since 1994 and has been called a legend by classicFM.com.

Growing up in the Treme nighborhood, Ketchens, aka Queen Clarinet, was exposed to second lines and jazz funerals on a regular basis. She studied at the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA) under Ellis Marsalis and drew inspiration and a positive mindset from several mentors and teachers, including Alvin Batiste and Stanley Weinstein, who helped her focus on taking her incredible talent to the next level. 

Most weekends, you can often find her in the French Quarter on Royal Street, where she's been thrilling crowds with her virtuosic performances for the past three decades.


Gladney

A 6th-generation native of New Orleans’s Lower 9th Ward, GRAMMY-nominated multi-instrumentalist and composer Gladney is one of the foremost creatives of his hometown and a leading contemporary exponent of the saxophone.

Having performed and traveled professionally since the age of 12, Gladney is a graduate of the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA), later earning his BA from the New School for Contemporary Music. While at NOCCA, Gladney was chosen to be a part of the now Herbie Hancock Institute of Jazz (then Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz) All-Star group where he traveled to high schools around the country educating through jazz “informances.”  During this time, Gladney had the distinct honor and privilege of performing at the White House during the Obama administration.

Gladney currently leads a self-titled band with the 2021 release of "Selenite" marking the band's recording debut. Along with his band, Gladney performs regularly with The Rumble, a Black Masking Indian-led funk band from New Orleans, and Jake Shears of alt-pop band Scissor Sisters.


Samantha Fish

The 33-year-old dynamo just released her sixth album, Faster. This is her sophomore release for Rounder Records; her debut was 2019's Kill or Be Kind. Faster debuted in the Billboard Blues Charts at #1, it also debuted at - #2 Folk Americana Charts - #10 Rock Albums Charts
 
Guitar World named her “One of the 30 best guitarists in the world” – she came in at #7 behind Eric Clapton, Buddy Guy, and Joe Bonamassa.  And Variety Magazine called “Faster” one of the Top Songs of 2021. And The New York Times said, "For the last decade, Fish has been one of the most promising young blues performers working, a punchy singer and a rowdy guitarist. Kill or Be Kind is her first album for the roots-music powerhouse Rounder, and it demonstrates the range of her palette, which takes in Southern R&B, rockabilly, and much more." 
  
While Samantha’s roots are in KC, she now calls New Orleans her home. A force to be reckoned with, Samantha's live performance is an explosive brand of blues/rock-and-roll not to be missed. 


Mason Hereford

Mason Hereford is the chef and owner of Turkey and the Wolf, a counter service-only joint that Food & Wine and GQ both listed as one of the most important restaurants of the decade and Bon Appetit named the Best New Restaurant in America in 2017. He also owns Molly's Rise and Shine, a breakfast spot nearby that Food & Wine named a Best New Restaurant in 2020. 

Mason's cookbook, Turkey and the Wolf: Flavor Trippin' in New Orleans is a New York Times Bestseller.

He was born and raised on gas station food and rollerblading in rural Virginia. He currently lives in New Orleans and will never leave. He is also in a Duke’s Mayonnaise commercial.


Demond Melancon

Demond Melancon (b. 1978) works solely with a needle and thread to sew glass beads onto canvas.  A self-taught artist, he began this form of art in 1992 when he first became part of a more than 200-year-old culture known as the Black Masking Culture of New Orleans.  Today as a Big Chief, Melancon is well known for creating massive suits which he wears in ceremonial battles on Mardi Gras day.  The suits he creates are sculptural forms based on the size of his body and are composed of intricately beaded patches revealing a collective visual narrative.

Over the past five years, Melancon has developed an emerging contemporary art practice using the same beading techniques he’s applied over the past 28 years as a Black Masker.  His work has been exhibited at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London, Art Miami, the Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Art in Brooklyn, and the Arthur Roger Gallery in New Orleans.  Many of Melancon’s works honor Black subjects historically excluded from the artistic canon, often reflecting untold stories from bygone pasts to remind viewers of their interwoven shared ancestries and diasporic histories. He also confronts stereotypical representations of Black identity and reflects his deep interest in exploring the possibilities of visual storytelling and redefining the traditions of portraiture. 


Brandan "BMIKE" Odums

Brandan “BMIKE” Odums is a New Orleans-based visual artist who, through exhibitions, public programs, and public art works, is engaged in a transnational dialogue about the intersection of art and resistance.

From film to murals to installations, Odums’ work encapsulates the political fervor of a generation of Black American activists who came of age amidst the tenure of the nation’s first Black president, the resurgence of popular interest in law enforcement violence, and the emergence of the self-care movement. Most often working with spray paint, Odums paints brightly-colored, wall-sized murals that depict historical figures, contemporary creatives, and everyday people. In his otherwise figurative work, Odums departs from realism to play with color – blending lavender to paint the skin of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Coretta Scott King and robin’s egg blue for Harriet Tubman, for instance – suggesting an ethos of boldness that unites the subjects of his work and surpasses race, time, or any other aspect of physical reality.


Chef Isaac toups

Cooking the food that’s closest to his heart has earned Chef Isaac Toups rave reviews. Isaac Toups represents the new guard of Cajun chefs for his updated sophisticated approach to a cuisine that’s best known for deep rustic flavors. His culinary style is the direct result of his New Orleans fine dining experience and growing up Cajun (Rayne, La, in the heart of Cajun country). Since opening Toups’ Meatery with his wife Amanda in 2012, Chef Isaac Toups has three times been named a James Beard Best Chef of the South Semi-finalist & finalist, and earned other notable accolades.

“All I have ever wanted to do is to offer my version of Cajun cuisine and to recreate the dining experience around my family’s table. It’s especially rewarding that our guests respond to what we’re doing.” – Chef Isaac Toups"


Stanton Moore

Stanton Moore is a GRAMMY award-winning drummer, educator and performer born and raised in New Orleans. He is especially connected to his hometown city, its culture and collaborative spirit. In the early ‘90s, Moore helped found the New Orleans-based essential funk band Galactic who continue to amass a worldwide audience via recording and touring globally. The band has averaged 100 shows a year for the last 25 years.

Throughout his 25 year career, Moore has played and or recorded with a diverse group of artists including Maceo Parker, Joss Stone, Irma Thomas, Leo Nocentelli and George Porter (of the Meters),Tom Morello (of Rage Against the Machine), Corrosion of Conformity, Donald Harrison Jr., Nicholas Payton, Trombone Shorty, Skerik, Charlie Hunter, Robert Walter, Will Bernard, Ivan Neville, Anders Osborne and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band. 

With a bachelor’s degree in music and business from Loyola University, Moore stays involved in education by constantly presenting clinics and teaching master classes and private lessons all over the world. To continue with his passion for teaching and to become more closely connected with his students, he recently launched his own online drum academy, StantonMooreDrumAcademy.com.


Neal Bodenheimer

Neal Bodenheimer was born and raised in New Orleans. In 2009 he opened his first cocktail bar, Cure, on Freret Street in Uptown New Orleans. Since then he has opened several more bars in the city, including Cane & Table, Bellocq, Vals, and Peychaud's. 

In 2018 Cure won a James Beard Award for “Best Bar Program.” And Esquire Magazine named Peychaud's one of the best bars in America in 2022. He is the co-chair of the board of directors for the Tales of the Cocktail Foundation, a leader in the global cocktail community committed to educating, advancing, and supporting the hospitality industry around the world.

You can find Bodenheimer's new book, Cure: New Orleans Drinks and How to Mix 'Em in bookstores and online in October 2022.


My Nguyen

My Nguyen moved to New Orleans in 1986 and has been a commercial fisherwoman here for decades. What she loves most about New Orleans is the city's abundance of fresh seafood - cooking and eating it, in addition to catching it.

She also enjoys the Vietnamese community's farmers market on Saturday mornings in the New Orleans East neighborhood of Versailles, where you can find fresh produce, herbs, and homemade foods like rice cakes wrapped in banana leaves.