Suche
Sie haben Ihren ersten Artikel zu Trip Builder hinzugefügt! Verfolgen Sie hier Ihren Reiseverlauf.
ENews
UPDATES UND SONDERANGEBOTE
Buchung
 
x

Der Jazz-Markt von New Orleans

  • Neighborhood:
    Central Business District/Downtown
  • hours
    Hours of Operation:
    More Details:

    Di-Mi 10 - 16 Uhr; Do-Sa 10-12 Uhr

Kategorien
  • Veranstaltungsorte
  • Jazzclubs/Musikhallen
  • Live-Musik

Restaurants

General
  • Full Bar
  • Music/Entertainment
ABOUT:

Der New Orleans Jazz Market befindet sich am historischen Oretha Castle Haley Boulevard und bietet ein großartiges Theater, große Bars, Tagungsräume, interaktive Lernräume und vieles mehr. Wenn Sie ein Konzert besuchen, etwas über einen berühmten Musiker erfahren oder Live-Musik an der Bar hören möchten, müssen Sie unbedingt im Jazz Market vorbeischauen!

Background

Das prestigeträchtige New Orleans Jazz Orchestra (NOJO) wurde 2002 von Irvin Mayfield gegründet und war die erste Gruppe, die sich ausschließlich der Entwicklung der Jazzmusikindustrie widmete.

Mayfield und lokale Partnerorganisationen arbeiteten zusammen, um ein altes Kaufhaus in ein modernes Zuhause für das NOJO zu verwandeln. Neben dem neuen und perfekt geformten Theater für das Orchester wurde der Markt gebaut, um Musiker und Jazzfans aller Art anzuziehen, das Interesse an der Jazzgeschichte und -kultur zu wecken und den Künstlern einen Raum zu bieten, in dem sie ihre Talente mit Besuchern aus nah und fern teilen können.

Konzerte im Theater

Das Haupttheater beherbergt nicht nur das berühmte New Orleans Jazz Orchestra, sondern bietet auch das ganze Jahr über Veranstaltungen mit Eintrittskarten für weltberühmte Künstler an.

Dieser Aufführungsraum ist gerade groß genug, um ein größeres Publikum aufzunehmen, bietet aber dennoch einen intimen Rahmen für alle. Mit sorgfältig entworfener Beleuchtung, glatten Holzpaneelen und mehrstufigen Plattformen ist das Theater so konzipiert, dass es einen perfekten Klang erzeugt, der jeden Platz im Publikum erreicht.

Die Bolden Bar

Der New Orleans Jazz Market bietet nicht nur Konzerte zu besonderen Anlässen, sondern auch kostenlose Live-Musik in der Lobby an mehreren Tagen der Woche!

Diese Einrichtung ist perfekt für einen abendlichen Cocktail, dient aber auch als nützlicher Arbeits- und Besprechungsraum. Mit Kaffee, Keksen und kostenlosem WLAN ist die Bar ein großartiger Ort, um einen Kollegen zu treffen, ein paar E-Mails zu schreiben oder mit einem alten Freund zu plaudern.

Nur für Kinder

Obwohl der Jazz Market für die Durchführung lebendiger Abend- und Nachtveranstaltungen ausgestattet ist, ist dieser Veranstaltungsort sehr kinderfreundlich und ermutigt alle jungen Musiker zu einem Besuch!

Getting There

Der New Orleans Jazz Market befindet sich in Central City an der Kreuzung von Oretha Castle Haley und Martin Luther King Boulevards im ehemaligen Gebäude des Gators Department Store, in dem früher der historische Dryades Market untergebracht war.

Der Oretha Castle Haley Blvd. ist an sich schon eine bemerkenswerte Sehenswürdigkeit, denn dieser Ort spielte im 19. Jahrhundert eine wichtige Rolle für die Kunst, das Unternehmertum und die Bürgerrechtsbewegung in New Orleans, und nach jahrelangen Reinvestitionen wird das Viertel täglich lebendiger.

Um zum Markt zu gelangen, können Sie von der Innenstadt oder dem French Quarter aus eine kurze Taxifahrt unternehmen oder in die St. Charles-Straßenbahn einsteigen, an der Haltestelle Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. aussteigen und drei Blocks zum O.C. Haley Blvd. laufen.

Venue Specs
Specifications
  • # of Meeting Rooms: 3
  • Größter Raum: 2733
  • SQFT gesamt: 5259
  • Facility Buyout: Yes
  • Max Banquet: 150
  • Max Classroom: 75
  • Max Facility Banquet: 150
  • Max Facility Reception: 700
  • Max Reception: 300
  • Max. Theater: 350
  • Number of Private Rooms: 2
  • Private Rooms: Yes
Distance From Key Locations
  • Convention Center:
  • SuperDome/Arena:
  • Airport:
  • French Quarter:
What's Nearby

Search
Booking
 
ENews
GET UPDATES AND SPECIAL OFFERS

The New Orleans Jazz Market

  • Neighborhood:
    Central Business District/Downtown
  • hours:
    Hours of Operation:
    More Details:

    Tues-Wed 10am - 4pm; Thurs-Sat 10am-12am

Restaurants

General
  • Full Bar
  • Music/Entertainment
Venue Specs
Specifications
  • Total # of Rooms: 3
  • Facility Buyout: Yes
  • Max Facility Banquet: 150
  • Max Facility Reception: 700

After years of dreaming and careful planning, award-winning musician Irvin Mayfield created a local mecca for all things jazz. The Peoples Health New Orleans Jazz Market (PHNOJM) is a contemporary performing arts venue and jazz community center for people of all ages!

Located on the historic Oretha Castle Haley Boulevard, the PHNOJM holds a magnificent theatre, full size bars, meeting rooms, interactive learning spaces and more. If you’re looking to see a concert, learn about a famous musician or hear live music at the bar, you have to stop by the Jazz Market and see what it’s all about!

Background

Irvin Mayfield is a Grammy and Billboard-award winning Jazz musician with 25 albums produced to his name and counting. As a New Orleans native and resident, Mayfield has dreamed of this Jazz community center since 2002, when he founded the prestigious New Orleans Jazz Orchestra (NOJO), the first performing arts group dedicated solely to development of the jazz music industry.

Mayfield and local partner organizations have worked together to turn what used to be an old department store into a contemporary home for the NOJO. In addition to its new and perfectly formed theatre for the orchestra, the market was built to attract musicians and jazz fans of all kinds, spark interest in jazz history and culture and provide a space for performers to share their talents with visitors from near and far.

Concerts in the Theatre

In addition to hosting the famous New Orleans Jazz Orchestra, the main theatre will hold ticketed performance events that showcase world-renowned artists throughout the year.

This performance space is just large enough to accommodate a sizeable audience, while still acting as an intimate venue for all to enjoy. With carefully designed lighting, smooth wooden panels, and multilevel platforms, the theatre is engineered to create perfect sound that resonates to every seat in the audience.

The Bolden Bar

Not only does the New Orleans Jazz Market host special occasion concerts, you can enjoy free live music in the lobby on multiple days of the week!

The Bolden Bar is the first thing you’ll see as you walk in the building. Open on Thursday evenings at 5 p.m., and 11 a.m.- midnight on Fridays and Saturdays, the bar serves both espresso and alcoholic beverages, with live music at any given hour.

While this setup is perfect for an evening cocktail, it also serves as a useful study/ meeting space. With coffee, cookies and free wifi, the bar is a great place to meet a co-worker, send a few emails or chat with an old friend.

Just for Kids

Though the Jazz Market is fully equipped to host lively evening and nightly events, this venue is very kid-friendly and encourages all young musicians to stop by for a visit!

The Jazz Market is in the process of setting up classroom space, bringing in toy instruments and even a digital interactive learning space, where kids can see the science and mathematics behind the magic of the music.

In fact, every Saturday at the Jazz Market is Kids Day, including jazz story time, games, arts and crafts and more!

Getting There

The New Orleans Jazz Market is located in Central City at the intersection of Oretha Castle Haley and Martin Luther King Boulevards in the former Gators Department Store building, which once housed the historic Dryades Market.

Oretha Castle Haley Blvd. is a notable point of interest in itself, as this location played a major role in 19th century arts, entrepreneurship and the Civil Rights movement in New Orleans, and after years of re-investment, the neighborhood grows more vibrant every day.

To get the market you can take a short cab ride from Downtown or the French Quarter, or hop on the St. Charles streetcar, get off at Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., and walk three blocks to O.C. Haley Blvd.

Distance From Key Locations
  • Convention Center:
  • SuperDome/Arena:
  • Airport:
  • French Quarter:
What's Nearby