Suche
Sie haben Ihren ersten Artikel zu Trip Builder hinzugefügt! Verfolgen Sie hier Ihren Reiseverlauf.
ENews
UPDATES UND SONDERANGEBOTE
Buchung
 
x

The Historic New Orleans Collection

  • Neighborhood:
    French Quarter
  • hours
    Hours of Operation:
    More Details:

    Tues - Sat 9:30am - 4:30pm Sun 10:30 - 4:30

Kategorien
  • Museen
  • Historic Home

Attraktionen/Aktivitäten

General
  • Museum Month Participant
ABOUT:

Become a Member

Die 1966 gegründete Historic New Orleans Collection ist ein kostenloses Museum, das der Geschichte und Kultur von New Orleans und dem Golf-Süd gewidmet ist. Die öffentlichen Galerien befinden sich in der 520 und 533 Royal Street im Herzen des French Quarter, dem ältesten Teil der Stadt.

Das Welcome Center auf der Hauptebene des 1816 Seignouret-Brulatour Building in der 520 Royal Street verfügt über einen interaktiven Smart-Tisch. Dieser große Touchscreen kartiert Immobilien innerhalb des French Quarter und verweist auf historische, architektonische, rechtliche und soziologische Daten zu einzelnen Grundstücken und Strukturen von den frühen 1700er Jahren bis heute. Das Display dient als Einführung in die kostenlose French Quarter Tours-App, die selbst geführte Wanderungen in Verbindung mit Literatur und Musik von New Orleans, der Geschichte der freien Farbigen im Viertel, Wahrzeichen des Sklavenhandels und vielem mehr auf die Smartphones der Besucher überträgt.

Im dritten Stock des Seignouret-Brulatour-Gebäudes können Besucher die French Quarter Galleries erkunden, eine Dauerausstellung, die das Vieux Carré anhand von Bildern, Objekten und dynamischen interaktiven Displays betrachtet.

Jenseits des restaurierten Innenhofs des Gebäudes beherbergt der Tricentennial Wing 2019 wechselnde Ausstellungen zu einer Vielzahl von Themen. Die Fahrbahn im 520 Royal ist auch Ihr Portal zu The Shop at The Collection, dem besten Ziel im French Quarter für Andenken und Geschenke aus der Region, und zum Café Cour, das erschwingliche Küche zu Ehren lokaler und regionaler Gerichte in einer ungezwungenen Innenhofumgebung anbietet. Das Café Cour bietet auch vegane und glutenfreie Speisen.

Auf der anderen Seite der Rue, in der 533 Royal Street, steht das Merieult House. Ursprünglich 1792 für einen Kaufmann und Sklavenhändler erbaut, beherbergt das Anwesen heute die Louisiana History Galleries, die eine Erzählung der multikulturellen Geschichte des Staates anhand von Kunst und Artefakten aus der vorkolonialen Zeit bis zum Hurrikan Katrina präsentieren.

Sowohl der 520 als auch der 533 Royal Street Campus verfügen über wunderschöne Innenhöfe mit Ausstellungen, die den Bau und die Architektur der verschiedenen Standorte, das Leben der Bewohner der Gebäude, einschließlich freier und versklavter Menschen, erkunden, bemerkenswerte Ereignisse und die späteren Bemühungen von Denkmalschützern, die die Grundstücke restaurierten ihr aktueller Zustand.

Mit Aktivitäten für alle Altersgruppen, sauberen und zugänglichen Räumen, Restaurants und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten vor Ort und freiem Eintritt ist das The Historic New Orleans Collection ein ideales Reiseziel im French Quarter. THNOC ist von Dienstag bis Sonntag geöffnet, außer an wichtigen Feiertagen. Details zu Galeriezeiten, aktuellen Angeboten, Parkplätzen und mehr finden Sie auf hnoc.org.

Venue Specs
Specifications
Distance From Key Locations
  • Convention Center:
  • SuperDome/Arena:
  • Airport:
  • French Quarter:
What's Nearby
Geplante Veranstaltungen
Wiederkehrend wöchentlich am Sonntag, Dienstag, Mittwoch, Donnerstag, Freitag, Samstag bis 22.01.2023 - Spanisch New Orleans und die Karibik

Search
You've added your first Trip Builder item! Keep track of your trip itinerary here.
ENews
GET UPDATES AND SPECIAL OFFERS
Booking
 
x

The Historic New Orleans Collection

  • Neighborhood:
    French Quarter
  • hours
    Hours of Operation:
    More Details:

    Tues - Sat 9:30am - 4:30pm Sun 10:30 - 4:30

Categories
  • Museums
  • Historic Home

Attractions/Activities

General
  • Museum Month Participant
ABOUT:

Become a Member

Founded in 1966, The Historic New Orleans Collection is a free museum dedicated to the history and culture of New Orleans and the Gulf South. Its public galleries are at 520 and 533 Royal Street in the heart of the French Quarter, the oldest part of the city.

The Welcome Center on the main level of the 1816 Seignouret-Brulatour Building at 520 Royal Street features an interactive smart table. This large touch-screen maps properties within the French Quarter, referencing historical, architectural, legal, and sociological data on individual lots and structures from the early 1700s to the present. The display serves as an introduction to the free French Quarter Tours app, which transfers self-guided walking tours linked to New Orleans literature and music, the history of free people of color in the Quarter, landmarks of the slave trade, and more to visitors’ smart phones.

On the third floor of the Seignouret-Brulatour Building visitors can explore the French Quarter Galleries, a permanent exhibition that surveys the Vieux Carré via images, objects, and dynamic interactive displays.

Beyond the building’s restored courtyard, the 2019 Tricentennial Wing houses changing exhibitions on a variety of themes. The carriageway at 520 Royal is also your portal to The Shop at The Collection, the finest destination in the French Quarter for locally sourced keepsakes and gifts, and Café Cour, offering affordable cuisine honoring local and regional foodways in a casual courtyard setting. Café Cour also provides vegan and gluten-free options.

Just across the rue, at 533 Royal Street, stands the Merieult House. Originally built in 1792 for a merchant and slave trader, today the property serves as home to the Louisiana History Galleries, presenting a narrative of the state’s multicultural history using art and artifacts from the precolonial era through Hurricane Katrina.

Both the 520 and 533 Royal Street campuses have beautiful courtyards with displays exploring the construction and architecture of the various sites; the lives of the buildings’ occupants, including free and enslaved people; notable events; and the later efforts of preservationists who restored the properties to their current condition.

With activities for all ages, clean and accessible spaces, on-site dining and shopping, and free admission, The Historic New Orleans Collection is an ideal destination in the French Quarter. THNOC is open Tuesday through Sunday, excluding major holidays. Details on gallery hours, current offerings, parking, and more are available at hnoc.org.

Venue Specs
Specifications
Distance From Key Locations
  • Convention Center:
  • SuperDome/Arena:
  • Airport:
  • French Quarter:
What's Nearby
Upcoming Events