Long before mega-chef Emeril Lagasse purchased and renovated the building on St. Charles Avenue, Delmonico’s was a top fine dining destination in New Orleans, and one of the few remaining branches of the legendary Delmonico’s restaurants in New York City. Anthony Commander (brother of Emile Commander, who established Commander’s Palace) opened Delmonico’s New Orleans in 1895 in a building that was previously a one-story dairy, and offered New Orleans a taste of the East Coast’s high cuisine, from the famous Delmonico steak to Lobster Newberg.
In 1998, after an extravagant makeover, the Food Network star re-opened the restaurant as Emeril’s Delmonico. Sweeping, high ceilings and luxe, upholstered walls and windows set the stage for a grand dining experience. Chef de cuisine Spencer Minch oversees a menu that combines Lagasse’s bold, ambitious riffs on Creole classics with his own contemporary ramblings (think: small plates and house-made salumi) and a list of steakhouse fare worthy of the original Delmonico’s menu.